A THANKSGIVING LAMENT

There’s a lot that is not right with America this Thanksgiving Day. Freedom of religion and freedom of speech are under attack and the enemy is winning. The recent election looked like something out of a third world country. The noble profession of journalism has become a political propaganda trade. Civility in political affairs is nonexistent. Truth on the soap box is a rare concept. A highly suspicious pandemic emerges from America’s greatest adversary and takes a quarter-million lives and spooks the country, destroying livelihoods, and gathered Thanksgiving at my church has been canceled due to governmental measures of unknown efficacy.

The nations rage…the people plot…but God…laughs. (Psalm 2) He laughs at a world of plotting rebellious sinners who ignore the very source and sustenance of their being. He foretold how they would act and why through the Apostle Paul in Romans 1:18-32, then  he gives them over to live out their lusts in 21st century America, and when they reap the whirlwind they have sown and bury themselves in a pit of their own making…and beg for mercy without repentance…will He not laugh again?

But God…  Those two words can overcome every situation life throws at me, and they appear often in the Bible. But God loves me so much that he sent His Son to die for me, and the Holy Spirit to open my eyes and change my heart of stone. Why me? But for his amazing grace I would be among the frolicking rebels of Romans 1. A God who died for me would not forget me in the midst of America’s dark times, or ever. It’s the blessing that exceeds all blessings.

Not least, there’s a sumptuous meal in the making (I salivate as I write the words) at our daughter’s house, and abundant love of God and family. My blessings far outweigh my lament. One day I will understand how the lamentable stuff was good for me (Romans 8:28), and I will laugh with God…forever. For all that I am thankful this Thanksgiving.

“…give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you” (1 Thessalonians 5:18).


Discover more from COGITATIONS

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

One Response to “A THANKSGIVING LAMENT”

  1. Paul Says:

    Thank you so much for this wonderful post, you ol’ Coger… you wonderful man. I kept reading it over and over, until I had mined the last morsel of its content. The last two sentences of the 3rd paragraph have been swimming around in my empty head since November 3. As always, your uplifting message have saved the day for me. We, too, will be headed north on the I-405 in a few hours to our daughter’s house to spend precious time with family. Happy Thanksgiving Day and God Bless from the Left Coast, PO

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a comment


Discover more from COGITATIONS

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading